Day: December 18, 2007

Here's another M'sian 'record'

Malaysiakini Fauwaz Abdul Aziz | Dec 18, 07 5:26pm Malaysia could well enter some obscure record book for rushing through constitutional amendments, the latest of which was on Dec 11 to extend the tenure of the Election Commission (EC) head by a year to the

Malaysian opposition renews call for government to clean up electoral system

The Associated Press Tuesday, December 18, 2007 PUTRAJAYA, Malaysia: Opposition members and social activists urged the Malaysian government Tuesday to reform the electoral system, renewing a demand made at a massive rally last month that police crushed with tear gas and water cannons.

Malaysian rights activists warn of further protests

18 Dec 2007 KUALA LUMPUR (AFP) — Malaysian activists Tuesday threatened to take to the streets again to call for electoral reform following the government’s crackdown on several mass protests in Kuala Lumpur.

Police bail extended for Bersih 17

Malaysiakini Kuek Ser Kuang Keng | Dec 18, 07 11:05am Seventeen Bersih supporters arrested for breaching a ban to gather at the Parliament on Dec 11 have had their police bail extended to Dec 26.


NOTA BANTAHAN KEPADA YAB PERDANA MENTERI MALAYSIA 18 DISEMBER 2007 Gabungan Pilihanraya Bersih dan Adil, BERSIH memandang serius dan merakamkan rasa kekecewaan serta kekesalan tentang kelulusan Pindaan Rang Undang-undang bersabitan Perkara 114 Perlembagaan Persekutuan bagi melanjutkan usia pemegang jawatan ahli Suruhanjaya Pilihanraya (SPR) dari 65

PKR duo seeks RM4mil compensation

Malaysiakini Beh Lih Yi | Dec 17, 07 12:48pm Two PKR leaders are claiming compensation over their ‘wrongful’ arrest on Dec 11 near Parliament House, as police prevented them from joining poll reform group Bersih in submitting a memorandum.

Handover of protest note to PM's Office

MEDIA NOTICE A BERSIH delegation of 5-8 representatives will hand over a protest note to the PM’s Office on the recently-approved Constitutional Amendment Bill to extend the retirement age for Election Commission members from 65 to 66. Time: PM’s Office, Blok Utama, Bangunan Perdana Putra,