Malaysia Now Has 10.8 Million Registered Voters

December 27, 2007
KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 27 (Bernama) — Malaysia now has 10,820,650 registered voters when the supplementary electoral roll for the third quarter of 2007 was gazetted today after objections in four out of 21 contentious constituencies were dealt with.

EC’s public relations officer Sabri Said said the figure comprised the 2006 main electoral roll as well as the combined supplementary rolls for the first, second and third quarters of 2007.
He said Regulation 22(1) of the General Election (Registration of Electors) Regulations 2002 stipulated that the supplementary roll be certified soon after objections were dealt with.
Sabri said the objections for the 21 constituencies were raised between July 1 and Sept 30 involving 39,868 voters.
He said the four constituencies where public enquiries had been dealt with were Marang in Terengganu, Pekan and Rompin in Pahang and Sungai Besar in Selangor.
“These involved 11,118 voters, comprising 7,745 new ones and 3,373 who have changed addresses,” he said in a statement.
The objections from 28,750 more voters in 17 constituencies could not be validated as they were still undergoing public enquiries before they could be brought into the supplementary roll for the fourth quarter for certification, he said.
The constituencies are Tumpat, Pengkalan Chepa, Kota Baharu, Pasir Mas, Rantau Panjang, Kubang Kerian, Bachok, Ketereh, Tanah Merah, Pasir Puteh, Machang, Jeli and Kuala Krai in Kelantan.
Other areas are Kuala Nerus, Kuala Terengganu and Dungun in Terengganu and Bera in Pahang.
Sabri called on the family members of deceased voters to send their death certificates or burial permits to the EC so that it could “clean up” the electoral roll.
“The copy of the certificate or permit can be sent by mail or fax to any state EC office or EC headquarters in Putrajaya,” he said.
He also advised voters to send corrections to the EC if they detected errors in their voter registration details via email at [email protected] or to come in person to the nearest EC office.
Those who have moved to another area, are encouraged to change their address at the nearest voter registration centre.