EC despatches postal votes to 26 Sarawak constituencies

NST: 28 Feb 2008
The countdown to polling had begun. Today, the Sarawak Election Commission despatched ballot papers for the 16,142 postal voters, mostly policemen, servicemen in the armed forces and their spouses, in the remaining 26 constituencies. There are 16,354 postal voters in Sarawak but with no contests in Tanjung Manis, Igan, Kanowit, Kapit and Selangau, 212 postal voters are therefore not required to cast their votes.
With the exception of Igan, which the independent candidate withdrew his candidacy, the other four seats were won by the BN uncontested on Nomination Day.
In a symbolic ceremony, Election Commission panel member Mohd Ramji Alli received 1,289 ballot papers for the Bandar Kuching constituency from National Printers Sarawak branch manager Michael Tanjong at the national printers here. Ramji then handed the ballot papers over to the returning officers for the 13 constituencies that are accessible by road: Mas Gading, Santubong, Petra Jaya, Stampin, Kota Samarahan, Mambong, Serian, Batang Sadong, Batang Lupar, Sri Aman, Lubok Antu, Betong and Saratok.
The officers came here throughout the day to collect the ballot papers. Ballot papers to far-flung constituencies in central and northern arawak were despatched by air.
In the case of Mukah, the ballot papers were flown there by Hornbill Skyways helicopters while Hornbill Dorniers flew the papers to Sibu, Miri, Marudi, Limbang and Lawas.
On the date of postal vote casting, state election commission director Takun Sangguh said commanders of the police and the armed forces would decide on that but they must cast their postal votes before 5pm on March 8.