Press Release by Lim Kit Siang

Media Statement by DAP Parliamentary Leader and MP for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang in Petaling Jaya on Friday, 2nd January 2009:
Kuala Terengganu by-election – issue at stake is whether the changes started by the March 8 political tsunami last year  should be pressed  on or be blocked and  even reversed
DAP National Deputy Chairman Dr. Tan Seng Giaw, who was at the Kuala Terengganu stadium last night representing DAP, was as surprised as anyone when it was announced that the PAS candidate for the forthcoming by-election is four-term Wakaf Mempelam State Assemblyman, Abdul Wahid Endut and not anyone  of the two leading contenders,  Batu Buruk assemblyman Dr. Syed Azman Nawawi and  PAS Terengganu chief Datuk Mustapha Ali.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election on January 17, the second parliamentary by-election after the March general election last year is no less important than the Permatang Pauh by-election four months ago,  which saw the triumphant return of the Pakatan Rakyat leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to Parliament after an unjust enforced absence for a decade.
The Kuala Terengganu by-election  is a crucial and critical one as it will have a major influence on whether the changes started by the March 8 political tsunami last year should be pressed on or be blocked and even reversed.
The issue at stake in the January 17 by-election is not so much about the PAS candidate or even PAS, but the larger question whether after over half-a-century of Umno political hegemony, the voters of Kuala Terengganu would endorse greater changes and democratization in all aspects of Malaysian national life to take full advantage of Malaysia’s multi-racial, multi-lingual, multi-cultural and multi-religious diversity to build a united, harmonious, progressive and prosperous Malaysia guided by the principles of justice. freedom, accountability and integrity.
The Kuala Terengganu  by-election will be a tough and closely-fought contest for both the Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional where every vote counts.
Lim Kit Siang