Reports of suspension of key services ahead of July 9th

Bersih 2.0 urges the Federal Government not to suspend multiple public services this weekend in a futile attempt to stop the BERSIH 2.0 Rally at Merdeka Stadium.

BERSIH 2.0 is alarmed by intelligence that there might be a full or partial clampdown on the internet as we approach this weekend.
BERSIH 2.0 warns the Federal Government that should access to the mobile phone networks, the internet, mobile 3G services, specific websites or social media be compromised in any way whatsoever, then the authorities will look absolutely no different from the Middle Eastern dictators who have used the same measures with no success whatsoever.
BERSIH 2.0 urges members of the public who want to join the historical July 9 rally to enter the city centre by today or tomorrow morning as intelligence suggests that public transport will be shut down, either partially or fully on Friday and/or Saturday. Observing the shocking fact that bus permits to Kuala Lumpur have already been frozen, plans seem to be well in place to make entering Kuala Lumpur on the 9th of July to as difficult as humanly possible.
Bersih 2.0 reiterates in on no uncertain terms that any repression, intimidation and obstacles will not for an instant dilute our resolve to gather peacefully at Stadium Merdeka at 2pm on the 9th of July 2011, after which we will disperse just as peacefully.
Should any of the above repressive measures come into effect, Malaysians and the international community will witness for themselves the desperate and unwarranted extremes to which the government is willing to go to prevent clean and fair elections.
The government will also be unequivocally and fully responsible for the loss of business, the loss of confidence within the investment community, and the complete loss of goodwill towards Malaysia’s political and commercial standing.
Released by
Steering Committee
Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (BERSIH 2.0)
The members of the BERSIH 2.0 Steering Committee are:
Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan (Chair), Andrew Khoo, Arul Prakkash, Arumugam K., Dr Farouk Musa, Haris Ibrahim, Liau Kok Fah, Maria Chin Abdullah, Richard Y W Yeoh, Dr Subramaniam Pillay, Dato’ Dr Toh Kin Woon, Dr Wong Chin Huat, Dato’ Yeo Yang Poh dan Zaid Kamaruddin.