Errors in Electoral Roll Must Be Cleaned Up Immediately!

BERSIH 2.0 Press Statement, 01. June 2012

Despite continuous public pressure, the Election Commission continues to err in updating voters and registering new voters on its electoral roll.BERSIH 2.0 was approached by an individual, Phang Kuok Sing, who found himself a registered voter in Tangkak, Johor despite the fact that the address on his new identity card is in Kelantan. BERSIH 2.0 has been approached previously by other individuals who faced similar errors in their voter registration, many of whom had gone on the lodge complaints with the EC. This error which has been committed repeatedly by the EC is inexcusable as such errors deprive registered voters from their right to vote in their constituency.Another example of such incorrect placing of constituency is the case of Yoong Fue Ting. In May 2011, Yoong Fue Ting who had earlier applied to transfer her polling station from Mambau to Paya Jeras, also found that she was incorrectly assigned to the state constituency of Taman Melati, under the Wangsa Maju parliamentary constituency. This was despite having an address in Taman Wangsa Permai, and with her husband’s follow-up with the EC office in Selangor and finally at Putrajaya.Her husband, informed BERSIH 2.0 that finally he had to contact the EC’s Director of IT, Haji Kamarudin Keling, who gave the reason that Yoong had stated in her form that she worked in Wangsa Maju. “My wife does not know where Wangsa Maju is, and she has definitely not worked there before,” he said. He added, “Even if she had worked in Wangsa Maju, there is no reason for her polling station to be based at her workplace.” After submitting forms to amend the polling station on two separate occasions over the span of one year, finally, it was corrected in June last year.
Another example is the case of BERSIH 2.0 Steering Committee member, Liau Kok Fah, who was declared as “deceased” by the EC. This was presented at an EC-BERSIH 2.0 meeting in 2010 but to date, Liau is still declared as dead and his registration cannot found in the electoral roll.

BERSIH 2.0 hereby urges all voters to check their registration at to ensure that they have been allocated the correct polling station. It is crucial that every voter is given the chance to exercise his voting right in the coming General Election.
Without a doubt, the EC has failed to meet BERSIH 2.0 Demand #1 – Clean up the electoral roll. As highlighted by Dr Ong Kian Ming, Director of the Malaysian Electoral Roll Analysis Project (Merap), there are some 3.1 million potential non-resident voters that need to be cleaned up.
This figure, where 3.1 million voters in Peninsular Malaysia whose IC address did not correspond with their voting constituency, were in fact identified by the National Registration Department (NRD) in a project called ‘Projek SPR’. The findings from this project were found in 2002, where the discrepancies constituted 37 percent of the then 8.3 million voters in Peninsular Malaysia..
The recent poll survey conducted by the Merdeka Centre further reinforces the fact that there is no public confidence in the EC. We have given sufficient time and cooperated with both the Parliamentary Select Committee (PSC) on Electoral Reforms and the EC on how to improve the electoral process, but the result is far from being positive and instead, appears to be deteriorating.
BERSIH 2.0 once again reiterates that the Najib administration should immediately remove the current team at the EC and allow for fresh commissioners to be appointed, where they will be represented by credible individuals such as professionals, academicians and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) so as to ensure a clean and fair election by the 13th General Elections. BERSIH 2.0 demands that an immediate and thorough clean-up of the electoral roll is conducted immediately.
Keluar Mengundi, Lawan Penipuan!
Steering Committee
Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections 2.0 (BERSIH 2.0)
The Steering Committee of BERSIH 2.0 comprises:
Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan (Co-Chairperson), Datuk A. Samad Said (Co-Chairperson), Ahmad Shukri Abdul Razab, Andrew Ambrose, Andrew Khoo, Anne Lasimbang, Arul Prakkash, Arumugam K., Awang Abdillah, Dr Farouk Musa, Hishamuddin Rais, Liau Kok Fah, Maria Chin Abdullah, Matthew Vincent, Niloh Ason, Richard Y W Yeoh, Dr Subramaniam Pillay, Dato’ Dr Toh Kin Woon, Dr Wong Chin Huat, Dato’ Yeo Yang Poh and Zaid Kamaruddin.