Investigate Attack Against Dr. Ong Kian Ming

Press Statement: 11. July 2012

BERSIH 2.0: Investigate Attack Against Dr. Ong Kian Ming

BERSIH 2.0 condemns the attack by thugs on political analyst Dr. Ong Kian Ming that occurred yesterday at his place of residence. We are relieved that he was not harmed during the incident.
Dr. Ong Kian Ming is the Director of the Malaysian Electoral Roll Analysis Project (Merap), a research effort to identify and understand problems with the existing electoral roll. His research has exposed crucial problems underpinning the electoral system. In addition, Dr. Ong has been a vocal critic against injustice and poorly planned or implemented government policies. The possibility of the attack on Dr. Ong being connected with his criticisms of the government policies and practices cannot be discounted.
BERSIH 2.0 views this attack as part of the increasing trend of harassment of human rights defenders by non-state actors. Examples of recent attacks on human rights defenders include the gangster attack on student activists at Dataran Merdeka during the Abolish PTPTN protest camp on 19 April 2012 and the harassment and intimidation against BERSIH 2.0 Co-Chairperson Ambiga Sreenevasan by various groups and individuals after the BERSIH 3.0 rally.
BERSIH 2.0 calls on the authorities to investigate into the attack against Dr. Ong and to bring those responsible to justice. Attacks against human rights defenders must not be taken lightly. The Government must condemn and take swift action against such attacks or else its silence will be seen as condoning such attacks.
Keluar Mengundi, Lawan Penipuan!
Salam BERSIH 2.0!

BERSIH 2.0 Steering Committee
Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (BERSIH 2.0)
The Steering Committee of BERSIH 2.0 comprises:
Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan (Co-Chairperson), Datuk A. Samad Said (Co-Chairperson), Ahmad Shukri Abdul Razab, Andrew Khoo, Arul Prakkash, Arumugam K., Awang Abdillah (Kuching), Dominic Hii (Sibu), Dr Farouk Musa, Hishamuddin Rias, Liau Kok Fah, Mark Bujang (Miri), Maria Chin Abdullah, Niloh Ason (Kuching), Richard Y W Yeoh, Dr Subramaniam Pillay, Dato’ Dr Toh Kin Woon, Dr Wong Chin Huat, Dato’ Yeo Yang Poh and Zaid Kamaruddin.