BERSIH 2.0 Statement

Media Statement, 3 May 2013
The most critical elections in Malaysia’s history are likely to be stolen from the rakyat with a series of fraudulent moves on the eve of polling day. Tens of thousands of alleged voters are being flown and bussed to key battleground states and constituencies.
BERSIH 2.0 condemns this blatant move to defy the wishes of genuine voters across Malaysia. Flying in jumbo jet planeloads of people – be they citizens or non-citizens who have been illegitimately granted citizenship in order to vote – is an act of treason.
The Coalition for Free and Fair Elections urges Malaysians in the strongest terms to come out in record numbers to vote this Sunday, 5 May 2013. We ask all Malaysian voters to make an informed decision, of your own free will, about the politicians you can trust and those that you cannot believe any longer. We urge Malaysians to cast your vote at the polling booth fully aware of the travesty of democracy going on around us.
From the number of complaints that PEMANTAU has received so far, it is now very clear that BERSIH 2.0 was right in predicting this 13thgeneral election to be the dirtiest ever.
We deplore the silence of the caretaker Prime Minister, Najib Razak and condemn this complete lack of action by the Elections Commission, in the face of these most serious allegations over electoral roll fraud.
The EC, which denied the postal vote to hundreds of thousands of East Malaysians working in the peninsula, and even more citizens working in Singapore, is now standing mute as planeloads of people are being flown into the peninsula to vote.
The 13th General Elections this Sunday are likely to be neither free nor fair.
Thank you.
Steering Committee
Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections 2.0 (BERSIH 2.0)
The Steering Committee of BERSIH 2.0 comprises:
Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan (Co-Chairperson), Datuk A. Samad Said (Co-Chairperson), Ahmad Shukri Abdul Razab, Andrew Ambrose, Andrew Khoo, Anne Lasimbang, Arul Prakkash, Arumugam K., Awang Abdillah, Dr Farouk Musa, Liau Kok Fah, Maria Chin Abdullah, Matthew Vincent, Niloh Ason, Richard Y W Yeoh, Dr Subramaniam Pillay, Dato’ Dr Toh Kin Woon, Dr Wong Chin Huat, Dato’ Yeo Yang Poh and Zaid Kamaruddin