Press statement (30 October 2018): New BERSIH 2.0 Leadership Elected for 2018 – 2020

The Election Committee of the Coalition for Clean and Fair Election (BERSIH 2.0), comprises of Stanley Yong and Sevan Doraisamy, is appointed with the mandate to run the election of the Steering Committee of BERSIH 2.0 for 2018 – 2020.
With the closing of nomination period on 22 October 2018, the Election Committee received nominations from six endorsing organizations of in total, namely, Movement for Change, Sarawak, Writers Alliance for Media Independence (WAMI), ENGAGE, GEGAR, Rise of Sarawak Efforts (ROSE) and Pertubuhan Ikram Malaysia (IKRAM).
All nomination forms were accepted except one due to the late submission after the deadline of nomination. 
One nomination of candidate is received for each post (a total of 5 single posts) as per the followings. Hence, all candidates are elected unopposed. As for the nominations for committee members (a total of 2 posts), submissions from two candidates were received. They won unopposed too. 
The Election Committee is pleased to hereby announce the elected Steering Committee members for 2018 – 2020 as below:
Chairperson: Mr. Thomas Fann
Deputy Chairperson: Mr. Muhamad Faisal Bin Abdul Aziz
Vice Chair for Sarawak: Ms. Ann Teo
Vice Chair for Sabah: Ms. Beverly Joeman
Treasurer: Ms. Ngeow Chow Ying
Committee members: Ms. Ng Geok Chee, Mr. Alex Johnson
Mr. Thomas Fann is the founder and chairman of pro-reform non-governmental organisation ENGAGE. He was also part of the Bersih 2.0 Steering Committee from 2013-2016 where he served first as the Southern Region Vice-chair then as Treasurer. He was active on voters registration and spearheaded the Delineation Action & Research Team (DART) of Bersih to prepare the public to challenge EC’s redelineation of electoral boundaries. Through ENGAGE he also initiated several notable human rights projects like Freedom Fund to help activists who were being persecuted by the previous government and Citizens Against Enforced Disappearances (CAGED) to monitor the disappearances of Pastor Raymond Koh and the others. 
Mr. Faisal Aziz (Muhamad Faisal Bin Abdul Aziz) was a legal practitioner who represented cases involving public interest litigations. During his student days, he was President of National Union of Malaysian Muslim Students (PKPIM). Currently, he serves as the Secretary General of Muslim Youth Movement Malaysia (ABIM). He is also a young writer who regularly writes in a column in Malaysiakini and is the author of the book “Islam & The Reformist Thought For The Future” & Editor of “Rohingya: Bantu Atau Bantai?”.
Ms. Beverly Joeman is the current Secretariat Director of Jaringan Orang Asal SeMalaysia (JOAS), and the Supreme Council Member of Kadazan Society Sabah (KSS).  A Kadazan from Penampang, she has advocated for Orang Asal Rights at the Business & Human Rights Forum, and at the 17th Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (EMRIP) at the United Nations (UN), Geneva. She was also part of the Universal Periodic Review (UPR) team for JOAS, pushing for the ratification of the ILO Convention 169, and the recognition of UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP). 
Ms. Ann Teo’s involvement in civil society started more than a decade ago in a women’s non-governmental organization working on issues of violence against women, and later expanded to civil and political rights and democratic principles, including training of polling and counting agents as one of the ways for citizens to be involved in democratic processes. After the 13th General Election, she helped founded RISE OF SARAWAK EFFORTS (ROSE) – a citizen initiated and citizen-driven group currently working on voter empowerment. She practices law in Kuching and her greatest wish is to see each Sarawakian especially the young rising up and doing their bit to build the nation that they want.
Ms. Ngeow Chow Ying is a lawyer by profession. She is Vice Chair for Civil Rights Committee of the Kuala Lumpur & Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall for consecutive 6 years and a board member of TBH Trust for Democracy. She works on the abolition of death penalty and against torture. She regular Speaks at various international and national conference/forum and the topics covered include death penalty, criminal justice system, death in custody, women rights issue. She is also a trainer for Human Rights Camp organized by Democracy Academy of Malaysia and an active volunteer for the logistic team in Bersih 4 and Bersih 5 rally.
Ms. Ng Geok Chee is a lawyer by profession, practicing in Klang valley. She is also currently the chairperson of the women division of Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall (KLSCAH) and the Federation of Chinese Associations Malaysia (Huazong).  
Mr. Alexzander Johnson is a Business Relationships Manager with an IT Software Logistics Solutions firm. He is also a young entrepreneur who dabbles in both the entertainment industry and the f&b industry. He has been a volunteer with various organizations since 2007 through the Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute (ASLI) and the Perdana Leadership Foundation during his university days. He has been instrumental in serving Bersih as part of the Pemantau program since GE13. He truly believes in the need for clean and fair elections in the country and hopes for a Malaysia that is free from corrupt practices and racial discrimination.
With all candidates won unopposed, therefore, the election day, which is set originally on 10 November 2018 is no longer necessary and duly cancelled. 
Released by,
Mr. Stanley Yong and Mr. Sevan Doraisamy
Election Committee of BERSIH 2.0