Press Release by Bersih 2.0(30th June 2020): Retain Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff To Continue And Deepen Parliamentary Reform

The Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (Bersih 2.0), staunchly oppose the Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin’s motion to remove the Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof and his Deputy Nga Kor Ming on the first day of the next Parliamentary sitting on 13th of July. The other Deputy Speaker Rashid Hasnon who is an MP aligned to Muhyiddin is unaffected by the move. Such a motion to remove a Speaker of the House mid-term is unprecedented in Malaysia as the position is usually only vacated when Parliament is dissolved, upon death or resignation.

By convention, the House Speaker of a Westminster Parliament should be above partisan politics.  If he/she is an MP, upon election by fellow MPs, must retire from party politics to function as the impartial presiding official in the House. In the UK, a candidate for the Speaker’s office must be nominated by at least 12 MPs, with at least three from different parties. Even the deputy speakers come from different parties and have to resign from party positions.

In Malaysia, however, parliamentary speakers are traditionally treated as gatekeepers for the Executive, blocking motions or bills tabled by the opposition or even restricting speeches, greatly undermining the impartiality of the office. Speaker Ariff, who is not an MP and has retired from party politics since his appointment at the start of the 14th Parliament in 2018, has transformed his office with impartiality and a genuine appreciation for multipartisanship.

As citizens and taxpayers, we pay RM 44 million a year in monthly allowance alone, including RM 16,000 for MPs, RM 31,000 for the Speaker and RM 22,000 for deputy speakers, to maintain the Dewan Rakyat. As Malaysia is facing both the Covid-19 outbreak and global recession, we cannot afford for the Dewan Rakyat to be reduced to being an RM 44m-a-year white elephant or a mere rubber-stamp of the Executive.

We hereby demand all MPs to vote against the motion to remove Speaker Ariff to continue the reforms he has embarked, instead of replacing him with a partisan character.

We urge all MPs to also rally behind Ariff to continue the unprecedented reforms that have taken place under his speakership:

  1. The formation of 10 cross-party Select Committees that have oversight over policy and finance of a particular ministry and have the power to summon persons, records and documents. This has allowed government backbenchers and opposition members to play a meaningful role in law-making, policy formulation and scrutiny of government functions. More such committees should be formed so that every ministry is watched by a committee and every backbencher gets to sit on at least one committee.
  2. The appointment of an Opposition MP to chair the powerful Public Accounts Committee (PAC). This has empowered the Opposition to play an effective check and balance role in Parliament.
  3. Parliament as a more people-centric and friendly institution, which has organised events, often in collaboration with local and international organizations, to advance debates on democracy and human rights, besides easy access for academics, students and members of civil society.

And more reforms that should be introduced:

  1. An independent Parliamentary Service so that its staff is not controlled by the Executive.
  2. The recognition of the main opposition’s Shadow Cabinet in resource and access to government information.
  3. A weekly Prime Minister’s Questioning (PMQ) Time so that the Chief Executive is personally answerable to the House.
  4. Special slots for ‘non-governmental business’ and ‘private members’ bills’ so that the opposition and government backbenchers can play more constructive roles.

We demand the MPs to hear the public’s outcry for a functioning and competent Parliament, respect their mandate as the people’s voice and not just a number in 112, and reject the motion by Muhyiddin to remove Speaker Ariff on the 13th of July 2020.

In conjunction with our call to defend parliamentary reform, Bersih 2.0 calls on all Malaysians to support this call to retain Ariff as the Speaker of Dewan Rakyat by signing the online petition we initiated at  

We are also conducting a series of webinars where we will be discussing different aspects of parliamentary reforms needed to strengthen this institution. The first of the series will be held tonight at 8.30pm where we will have on the panel our Chairperson Mr Thomas Fann, MP for Pasir Gudang YB Hassan Karim and MP for Kluang YB Wong Shu Qi. The session will be moderated by Ms Ngeow Chow Ying, Bersih 2.0’s Treasurer and can be viewed live on our Facebook page at


Statement issued by:
The Steering Committee of Bersih 2.0