Statement of Parliamentary Caucus for Multi-Party Democracy (20 July 2022): The Establishment of the Parliamentary Caucus For Multi-Party Democracy

  1. We are pleased to announce the launch of the Parliamentary Caucus for Multi-Party Democracy (Kaukus Parlimen Demokrasi Pelbagai Parti) at the Parliament building on Wednesday, 20 July 2022. The Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (BERSIH) serves as the secretariat for the Caucus. The Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat, Tan Sri Azhar Azizan Harun, was also informed of the establishment of this Caucus through an official letter dated 18 July 2022.
  2. The objective of this Caucus is to encourage dialogue, engagement and cross-party participation in Parliament on institutional reforms, especially that of the Dewan Rakyat; and to facilitate public participation in the parliamentary process. This Caucus is essential to foster and drive healthy and productive multi-party competition to enhance the democratic atmosphere in Malaysia. The following is the list of the Caucus members:

Members of the Parliamentary Caucus for Multi-Party Democratic

No Name of Member of Parliament Party Constituency
1 YB Dato’ Sri Azalina Binti Othman Said UMNO P157 Pengerang
2 YB Puan Maria Chin Abdullah PKR P105 Petaling Jaya
3 YB Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Bin Ismail PKR P018 Kulim-Bandar Baharu
4 YB Datuk Hasanuddin bin Mohd Yunus AMANAH P101 Hulu Langat
5 YB Dato’ Dr Xavier Jayakumar A/L Arulanandam BEBAS P112 Kuala Langat
6 YB Tuan Loke Siew Fook DAP P128 Seremban
7 YB Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Bin Md Yusof BERSATU P135 Alor Gajah
8 YB Puan Wong Shu Qi DAP P152 Kluang
9 YB Dato Seri Panglima Madius Bin Tangau UPKO P170 Tuaran
10 YB Datuk Ignatius Darell Leiking Warisan P174 Penampang
11 YB Tuan Larry Sng Wei Shien PBM P209 Julau
12 YB Tuan Baru Bian PSB P214 Selangau


  1. At a meeting on Tuesday, 19 July 2022, the Caucus nominated us as co-conveners. Our sincere appreciation goes out to our colleagues in the Caucus for their trust and with their support, we will do our very best to advance the reforms.
  2. As a first step, members of the Caucus have agreed to explore and pursue matters like the revision of Dewan Rakyat Standing Orders to improve parliamentary operations by introducing ‘non-governmental business time’ (for Government Backbenchers and Opposition MPs) and facilitating the adoption of Private Members’ Bills and digitisation of parliamentary processes, the empowerment of the Parliamentary Select Committees, as well as holding discussions or hearings with stakeholders, namely experts, civil societies, the media and the public on the agenda of empowering Parliament and strengthening democracy.
  3. Additionally, we are concerned about the gender imbalance in the leadership of Dewan Rakyat and Dewan Negara and we see the importance of having Deputy Speakers/Deputy Presidents at both Houses that reflect diversity in terms of gender, region, and partisanship.
  4.   We, as members of the Caucus, wish to see this platform to benefit optimally all quarters in efforts to empower Member of Parliaments – especially Government Backbenchers and Members of the Opposition – as national lawmakers and policymakers, and to make our Parliament truly professional and world-class.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,
YB Dato’ Sri Azalina Binti Othman Said       YB Puan Maria Chin Abdullah
Co-convener                                                                    Co-convener